char()… a peer-review

As I stated before in my post, I will be performing some peer-reviews for my 0.6 release. Today I looked at char() coded by mlam19. Here is a link to the lighthouse ticket, the processing reference and the JAVA code I used to decide what the function is suppose to return. I know that testing this function should be done with unit tests but I didn’t want to play around with writing unit tests. The release is already past due and I didn’t want to take any more time then necessary. I wrote my own char() example. Here is a screen shot of a processing.js and processing comparison:

Notice that “E : E” is missing from the Java processing. This is because it does not support char(String). I am also concerned about the funky output for 1 & 0. However, I am going to let the super-reviewer worry about that.

The basis for my decision:

  • the function returns the appropriate value.
  • the function is written following the coding standards . Using 2 spaces instead of a tab, and leaving a space around brackets
  • there is tests available to test the function

After reviewing the code I gave char() the status of super-review-requested.

View all of my blogs on Processing.js
View all of my blogs

Leave a comment