GitHub Bug

I spent the last week working on uploading a new branch to GitHub using Git Bash (tutorial coming soon). If you are still trying to set up GitHub and Git Bash check out my tutorial HERE.

All this for a simple upload? The basic steps are: create a branch both remote & local, put your new files/folders into the repository directory on ur local machine, make sure Git Bash prompt is working with this branch, commit ur work including a message, push the repository back to GitHub.

It seems like a simple process, and it might still prove to be.

I must have done the steps a million times, but every time I logged on to my account on GitHub, pointed the browser to the correct branch, and downloaded the ZIP file I found none of my changes. I couldn’t figure out what was going on.

Finally, I spoke to Alistair MacDonald (F1LT3R) on IRC (Mibbit ), and he helped me thorough the steps of making a branch and uploading it. Still, the download didn’t contain any of my updates.

GitHub Download Menu

GitHub Download Menu

I noticed that on the download menu (pic above) the captions said at main (right now 51d280c). I found a BUG?? So even though I selected the new branch, GitHub was still pulling information from my main branch. Anyhow, I documented the Bug by adding a discussion topic. Check it out! Apparently the bug has been resolved “The page was cached with a bad link, it should download the correct branch now.” But I just downloaded, and I am now missing files that were previously there on top of missing the updates. Stay tunned…

View all of my blogs on GitHub
View all of my blogs

One thought on “GitHub Bug

  1. Pingback: Adding new Code to your GitHub Repository « Anna on Stuff (Processing.js/Open Source)

Leave a Reply

